Faculty

 
Zaheer Baber

Zaheer Baber, Professor

  • Office: DV3242
  • Office Hours: Wednesdays   3:30pm-4:30pm and Thursdays 3:30pm-4:30pm
  • Email: zaheer.baber@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231F&S, 354F and 459S
  • Specialization: Social Theory, Science, Technology and Society
Jayne Baker

Jayne Baker, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream

  • Office:  DV3236
  • Office Hours: Mondays 1:30pm-3:30pm and Thursdays 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Email: jayne.baker@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3948
  • Current Courses: SOC100F, 224S, 347S and 452S
  • Specialization: Gender, Education
Shyon Baumann

Shyon Baumann, Associate Professor 

  • Office: DV3230
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 12:00pm-1:30pm    
  • Email: shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC221F
  • Specialization: Sociological Study of Media, Culture and Arts
Ellen Berrey

Ellen Berrey, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3221
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 11:00am-12:45pm 
  • Email: ellen.berrey@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC216F, 323S, 456S
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Race and Racism, Cultural Sociology, Organizations
Hae Yeon Choo

Hae Yeon Choo, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3242
  • Office Hours: Alternate Mondays 3:00pm-5:00pm (teaching weeks only)
  • Email: hy.choo@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC275S, 425S and 439Y
  • Specialization: Gender and Sexuality, Immigration and Ethnicity   
Randol Contreras

Randol Contreras, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3237
  • Office Hours: Fridays 1:30pm-2:30pm or by appointment 
  • Email: r.contreras@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4767
  • Current Courses: SOC328F, 387S and 421S
  • Specialization: Ethnography and Urban Crime
Cynthia Cranford

Cynthia Cranford, Associate Professor 

  • Office: DV3232
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: c.cranford@utoronto.ca
  • Specialization: Gender and Family, Stratification, Work, and Labour Markets
Ronit Dinovitzer

Ronit Dinovitzer, Professor

  • Office: DV3230
  • Office Hours: Wednesdays 10:00am-11:00am
  • Email: ronit.dinovitzer@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses:  SOC216S, 342F&S and 475F
  • Specialization: Stratification, Work and Labor Markets, Social Policy, Social Inequality
 

Jerry Flores, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3231
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 3:15pm-4:15pm  
  • Email: jerry.flores@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC209S and 300F&S
  • Specialization: Studies of gender and crime, prison studies, alternative schools, ethnographic research methods, Latina/o sociology, correctional education, intersectionality and criminology and studies of race and ethnicity
Philip Goodman

Philip Goodman, Associate Professor (on Sabbatical from July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018)

Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3231
  • Office Hours: Monday 5:00pm-6:30pm 
  • Email: steve.hoffman@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231F, 433S and 463S
  • Specialization: Theory, Qualitative Research Methods, Science, Technology and Knowledge, Cultural Sociology, Organizations, Political Sociology, Social Policy
Nathan Innocente

Nathan Innocente, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3240
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 10:00am-12:00pm 
  • Email: nathan.innocente@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3945
  • Current Courses: SOC100S, 209F and 423S
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets
Josee Johnston

Josee Johnston, Professor (on Sabbatical from July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018)

John Kervin

John Kervin, Professor 

  • Office: DV3250
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 11:00am-12:00pm and Friday 11:00am-12:00pm
  • Email: john.kervin@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4367
  • Current Courses: SOC227F, SOC361S, SOC361F and SOC412S
  • Specialization: Work and Labour Markets, Gender
 

Amy Klassen, Lecturer 

  • Office: DV3219
  • Office Hours: Wednesdays 9:30am-10:30am, Thursdays 1:00-2:30pm  and Fridays 11:00am-12:30pm    
  • Email: amy.klassen@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC211F, 219F&S and 371F&S
  • Specialization: Punishment, Risk Theory, Correctional Officers, Mental Health, Criminology, Deviance, Psychiatric Power, Ethnography and qualitative methodology
Anna Korteweg

Anna Korteweg, Professor & Chair

  • Office: DV3204
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: anna.korteweg@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-5395 
  • Specialization: Political Sociology, Gender and Immigration
 

Zachary Levinsky, Lecturer

  • Office: DV3246
  • Office Hours: Wednesdays 12:00pm-2:00pm
  • Email: zachary.levinsky@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC301F&S, 316S and 379F&S
  • Specialization: Law and Society, Criminology
Sida Liu

Sida Liu, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3221
  • Office Hours: Mondays 3:00pm-5:00pm
  • Email: sd.liu@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC440Y and 475S
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Organizations and Professions, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Neda Maghbouleh

Neda Maghbouleh, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3234
  • Office Hours: By appointment 
  • Email: neda.maghbouleh@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC221S and 375S
  • Specialization: Race, Ethnicity, Immigration Diaspora, Youth
Prof. Paula Maurutto

Paula Maurutto, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate Affairs & Criminology, Law and Society Faculty Advisor

  • Office: DV3234
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: p.maurutto@utoronto.ca 
  • Phone: 905-828-5316
  • Current Courses: SOC205F
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society
Andrew Miles

Andrew Miles, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3223
  • Office Hours: Thursdays 11:00am-1:00pm
  • Email: andrew.miles@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4440
  • Current Courses: SOC222S and 344F
  • Specialization: Sociology of Culture, Social Psychology, Sociology of Morality, Theories of Action, Quantitative Methods
Melissa Milkie

Melissa Milkie, Professor

  • Office: DV3244
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: melissa.milkie@utoronto.ca 
  • Phone: 905-828-5410
  • Current Courses: SOC318S
  • Specialization: Health/mental health, culture, gender, work and family
AOBempah

Akwasi Owusu-Bempah, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3237
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 11:00am-12:00pm and by appointment
  • Email: a.o.bempah@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC209F and 322F&S
David Pettinicchio

David Pettinicchio, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3233
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 9:00am-10:30am and by appointment
  • Email: d.pettinicchio@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC222F&S and 350S
  • Specialization: Social Policy, Political Sociology, Social Movements and Disability
Kristin Plys

Kristin Plys, Assistant Professor

  • Office:  DV3238
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 11:00am-1:00pm
  • Email: kristin.plys@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC236S, 335F and 444S
  • Specialization: Political Economy; Development; Postcolonial Sociology; Labor and Labor Movements; Comparative and Historical Sociology; The Global South; South Asian Studies
Jasmine Rault

Jasmine Rault, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3250
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:30pm-4:30pm and by appointment
  • Email: jas.rault@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC340F and 445S
Ashley Rubin

Ashley Rubin, Assistant Professor

  • Office: DV3219
  • Office Hours: Mondays 12:30pm-1:00pm and 3:00pm-3:30pm and by appointment
  • Email: ashley.rubin@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205S and 320F
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Social Theory, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets
Erik Schneiderhan

Erik Schneiderhan, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate Affairs & Sociology Faculty Advisor

  • Office: DV3239
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:00pm-3:00pm
  • Email:  e.schneiderhan@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC432S and 485F
  • Specialization: Contemporary Theory
Luisa Farah Schwartzman

Luisa Farah Schwartzman, Associate Professor 

  • Office: DV3238
  • Office Hours: Thursdays and Fridays 1:30pm-2:30pm
  • Email: luisa.fs@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC253F, 332F and 457S
  • Specialization: Race & Ethnicity
Gail Super

Gail Super, Assistant Professor

  • Office:  DV3246
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 11:30am-12:30pm
  • Email: gail.super@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205F and 346F&S
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Punishment and Society 
Weiguo Zhang

Weiguo Zhang, Associate Professor

  • Office: DV3248
  • Office Hours: Mondays 1:00pm-3:00pm 
  • Email: weiguo.zhang@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3943
  • Current Courses: SOC244S, 334F, 356S, 444F
  • Specialization: Gender and Family