

Department of Visual Studies Annual Awards Gala!

LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We would like to acknowledge that for thousands of years this has been and still is the traditional territory and waters of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, Anishinaabe Nation, Huron-Wendat and the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. Sheridan College sits on these lands and it is our collective responsibility to honour and respect those who have gone before us, those who are here, and those who have yet to come. We are grateful to have the opportunity to work here; and through our activities seek to create a space for people from within and outside our diverse community to create, share and discuss contemporary art, as well as to understand the art of long ago—all in the spirit of peace, friendship and respect.

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2023

Awards Ceremony 6:00 – 8:00 PM | Sheridan Trafalgar Gallery Sheridan College Room AA23 (AA Wing)

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Sonya Filman

MASTERS OF CEREMONY

John Armstrong

Coordinator, Art and Art History, Sheridan College
Jill Caskey

Chair, Department of Visual Studies, UTM

PLATFORM PARTY

Mark Jones

Dean of Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design, Sheridan College Tania Senewiratne

Associate Dean Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design, Sheridan College Caylen Heckel

Assistant Professor, DVS

Christine Shaw

Director and Curator, Blackwood Gallery

DONOR PLATFORM PARTY

Heather Kelly

Owner + Director Akimbo Art Promotions

ACADEMIC AWARDS

ART HISTORY AWARDS

Sylvia C. Morton Prize

Kayleigh Tait-Brown

Dr. Annie Smith Award in Art & Art History

Milroy Stanislaus Jessica Zhang

Gani Cabezas

Sylvia C. Morton Prize for 2022

Ryan Suitor

Prof. L. Eleen, T. Martone & B. Welsh Prize in Art History

Margaret Laidlaw Memorial Scholarship in Art & Art History

Huan Chen

Catherine Quesnel Prize in Art & Art History

Emily Edwards

Art History Has Its Eyes On You Award

Jimin Kang Hafsa Murtaza Fatima Nawaz

UTM Art History Excellence Award

Bill Wolfe

CINEMA STUDIES AWARDS

Cinema Studies Prize

An-chih Hsu Zhijing Xu Lu Liu Songpu Liu Bianca Reategui Delgado

VISUAL CULTURE & COMMUNICATION PRIZE

Visual Culture & Communication Prize

Kevin Li

BLACKWOOD GALLERY & CURATORIAL PROJECT AWARDS

Blackwood Gallery Award

Treasure Iyanuoluwa Fatile

Curatorial Project Award

Natalie Chiovitti

STUDIO AWARDS

The Women's Art Association of Canada Rheta D. Fines Scholarship

Huan Chen

Oakville Galleries Award

Lorelai Mckeown

Excellence in Advanced Projects

Pora Lee

C Magazine Award

Joanna Konopka

YYZ Artists' Outlet Award

Zoe Wallage

PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE AWARD

Akimbo "Let's Talk About Me for a Minute" Award

Huan Chen

PRINT MEDIA AWARDS

Excellence in Print Media 1

Cai Jiale Jenn Kwiecinski Hafsa Murtaza Aubrey Pratama Sofia Ricci Faye Ye

Japanese Paper Place Award for Excellence in Print Media 2

Meya Mitsopoulos Powell Emily Scriver

Faculty Award for Excellence in Print Media 3

Emily Edwards

Japanese Paper Place Award for Excellence in Print Media 3

Joanna Konopka

Copper Cash Award for Continued Commitment to Printmaking

Gabrielle Kennific

Open Studio Award for Excellence in Print Media 4

Shannon Bogert Talia Gonzales Perez Palacio

The Lisa Neighbour Pioneers of Print Award for Print Media 4

Madison McEwing

Copper Cash Award for Continued Commitment to Printmaking

Gabrielle Kennific

DRAWING AWARDS

VIDEO & SOUND AWARD

Faculty Award for Excellence in Drawing 1

Andrea Cotez Lopez Gurleen Manak Hafsa Murtaza Siyi Kong Sigourney Tisdall Sandra Tsia Gianna Ruffieux Abdalrahman Mohammed Carissa Lee Rica Facnudo Bianca Acconci

Faculty Award for Excellence in Drawing 3

Zoe Wallage

Suki Wong

Faculty Award for Excellence in Drawing 4

C Magazine Award for Excellence in Drawing 1

Jimeson Shi

Above Ground Art Supplies Award for Excellence in Drawing 2

Nicolas Riccio

Faculty Award for Excellence in Video & Sound

Candace Minnot

PAINTING AWARDS

Tri-Art Award for Excellence in Painting 1

Hafsa Murtaza Rachel Eckert Sandra Tsia Abbey Robilotto

Kama Paints Award for Excellence in Painting 2

Jessica Zhang

Aboveground Art Supplies Award for Excellence in Painting 2

Treasure Fatile Lisa Grierson Meya Mitsopoulos Powell

Kama Paints Award for Excellence in Painting 3 Alex Denis

Faculty Award for Excellence in Painting 4

Huan Chen Sierra Peca Abigail Kohut

DESIGN AWARDS

Umbra / C Magazine Award for Excellence in Design 1

Bianca Acconci Ji-Yun Lee

Umbra / DeSerres Award for Excellence in Design 2

Isabella Iacoe

Faculty Award for Excellence in Design 3

Hiu Ting Charlotte Lam

Umbra / Type Books Award for Excellence in Design 4

Emma Goodman

PHOTOGRAPHY AWARDS

Faculty Award for Excellence in Photo 1

Rose Liu Zhiyi Zhang

Faculty Award for Excellence in Photo 2

MaybelleMorgan Hubert Swietorzecki

Gallery 44 Award for Excellence in Photo 3

Lorelai McKeown Emily Edwards

Gallery 44 Award for Excellence in Photo 4

Aprill Fonseca Zuniga

Anthony's Archive for Excellence in Photo 4

Dania Murad

SCULPTURE AWARDS

Paul Kipps Memorial Award for Excellence in Sculpture 1

Abbey Robilotto Kayleigh Tait-Brown Ella Jiang Anyah Douse Hatsa Murtaza Beatriz Simas

Paul Kipps Memorial Award for Excellence in Sculpture 2

Jessica Zhang Emma Tanner

Toronto Sculpture Supply Award for Excellence in Sculpture 3

Aprill Zuniga Fonseca

Therese Bolliger Award for Excellence in Sculpture 4

Shannon Bogert

ART & ART HISTORY BEN PORTIS MEMORIAL AWARD

Art & Art History Ben Portis Memorial Award

Shannon Bogert

DR. ANNIE SMITH AWARDS

Dr. Annie Smith Travel Award

Gladys Lou

Dr. Annie Smith Graduate Awards

Emma Feliciano
Emma Goodman
Yossie Maria Bolanos Cordero
Veronica Spiljak
Suki Wong
Natalie Chiovitti
Jing Han Yang

DONOR'S ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

We are deeply grateful to our supporters for your commitment to celebrate student success. Your support fuels our students' passion, curiosity and talent, inspiring them to achieve their best.

AAH Print Studio
Above Ground Art Supplies
Akimbo Art Promotions
John Armstrong
Art & Art History faculty, staff and administrators
Art Gallery of Ontario
ARTiculations Art Supply
Blackwood Gallery
Therese Bolliger
C Magazine

DeSerres
Family of Margaret Laidlaw
Family of Sylvia C. Morton

Family of Catherine Quesnel

Gallery 44

Japanese Paper Place

Kama Paints

Family of Paul Kipps

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA)

Lisa Neighbour

Oakville Galleries

Open Studio

Family of Ben Portis

Professors L. Eleen, T. Martone and B. Welsh

Dr. Annie Smith Graduate Scholarship Fund

Dr. Annie Smith Travel Award Fund

Swipe Design | books + objects

Toronto Sculpture Supply

Tri-Art Manufacturing

TYPE Books

Umbra

Women's Art Association of Canada + Rhita D. Fines

YYZ Artists' Outlet

AWARDS BROCHURE DESIGN

Aubrey Pratama

AWARDS BROCHURE COORDINATION

Atanas Bozdarov

AWARDS PRESENTATION IMAGE COORDINATION Ximena De La Garza

DVS & AAH VENUE COORDINATION

Angela Leach Steve Mazza Alex Nagy Jordyn Stewart Phoebe Todd-Parrish Rhonda Weppler

SPECIAL THANKS TO:

John Armstrong
Program Coordinator

Jill Caskey DVS Chair

Ashley Goertzen
Program Support Specialist

Natalie Zammit
Assistant to DVS Chair



Centre for Contemporary Photography











































Art & Art History and Department of Visual Studies

52nd Awards and Gala