Patrick Young
Coordinator of Theatre & Drama Studies
Artistic Director
Sheridan Institute of Technology
1430 Trafalgar Road
Oakville ON L6H 2L1
905.845.9430 ext. 2709
patrick.young@sheridaninstitute.ca



Nancy Copeland
Director of Drama Studies
Executive Producer
University of Toronto Mississauga
3359 Mississauga Road North
Mississauga ON LSL 1C6
905.828.3671
nancy.copeland@utoronto.ca

Awards Launch Theatre Erindale's MAYHEM Season

[Mississauga ON, October 2012] The new Theatre Erindale season launched on Friday September 21st at the Erindale Studio Theatre with Awards for the top achievers of 2011-2012, the 20th Anniversary year of the Sheridan-UTM Theatre and Drama Studies Program.

Theatre Students spend so much time working on productions and perfecting their craft that earning the money to get through the year financially is a challenge. Fortunately the Program has generous benefactors. These include the late Arthur Lindsay Fernie – responsible for a whole series of bursaries and scholarships; Professor Emeritus Roger Beck and Janet Beck – donors of three annual endowed awards; the Faculty of the program from both UTM and Sheridan; and the audiences of Theatre Erindale, whose donations to the scholarship fund have helped out many a budding actor in need.

The evening included a sumptuous pot luck dinner and outstanding entertainment from some of the winners: Kaitlyn Alexander, Andrew DiRosa, Michael Esposito II, Hailey Gillis, Ben Hayward, Eliza Martin, Carolyn Nettleton, Victor Pokinko, Jonathan Walls, and Josh Wiles, with Dave Myers at the piano.

Presented by Sheridan Associate Dean Michael Rubinoff and UTM Chair Holger Syme, the Fernie Entrance Scholarships for top high school marks combined with the highest audition scores went to Rachelle Goebel of London, Roxhanne Norman of Toronto, and Larissa Crawley of Brampton. Madeleine Brown of - Peterborough won the Fernie Scholarship for first year, while Bailey Green of Montreal and Brian Postalian of Scarborough won the scholarships for second year. Tops in both Acting and Academic work during their third year were four of the young artists who took The Halifax Explosion to Halifax last spring: Carolyn Nettleton of North York, Ali Richardson of Halifax-Dartmouth, Hailey Gillis of Grimsby, and Ben Hayward of Streetsville.

Three Memorial Awards addressed unique achievements. The David Séguin Award for a passion for the theatre went to Gevvy Sidhu of Brampton; the Gina Smith Award for "a quirky and playful creative spirit and an understanding of the true nature of love" went to Kaitlyn Alexander of Nepean, and the Meg Young Award for progress and personal growth went to Marcus Haccius of Grand Bend – all presented by the donors.

The Beck Awards are special recognitions of achievement both inside and outside the program, endowed and presented by Roger and Janet Beck. One for a strong record in both production and academia went to Owen Fawcett of Capreol, one for all-round promise to Chiamaka Ugwu of Scarborough, and the Roger Beck

prize for achievement both inside the program and beyond went to Best Supporting Internet Actor nominee (for Out With Dad) and Fringe volunteer Lindsey Middleton of Fort Erie.

Sheridan President Jeff Zabudsky closed the evening with warm congratulations to the winners and organizers.

Most of these winners will be appearing in Theatre Erindale's upcoming "Mayhem!" season; both memberships and single tickets are now on sale. The first production, the Canadian Première of Noël Coward's Semi-Monde, opens on Friday October 26th. For tickets and further information, call the box office at 905-569-4369 or visit www.theatreerindale.com.

Contact: Patrick Young at 905-845-9430 ext. 2709

Box Office: 905-569-4369 or visit www.theatreerindale.com.

Production Photos by Jim Smagata: www.utm.utoronto.ca/academic/theatre/press.htm



(back row from L:) Sheridan Associate Dean Michael Rubinoff and UTM Chair Holger Syme with Fernie Scholarship winners Bailey Green, Brian Postalian, Ali Richardson and Ben Hayward; (foreground from L:) Roxhanne Norman, Rachelle Goebel, Larissa Crawford, Carolyn Nettleton, and Hailey Gillis.